Retrospect

Looking back at the international conference “Multisensory Motor Behavior – Impact of Sound”

On September 30th and October 1st, leading experts in the fields of sports science, rehabilitation, engineering, and neuroscience came together to highlight the current state and future directions of research on the topic “Multisensory Motor Behavior: Impact of Sound”.

The dvs-event was hosted by the Institute of Sports Science, Leibniz University Hanover (Prof. Dr. Alfred O. Effenberg & Dr. Gerd Schmitz) as well as the Sensory-Motor Systems Lab, ETH Zurich (Dr. Peter Wolf).

The single-track conference provided a framework for 90 participants from 10 different countries who came together for presentations, discussions and an intensive exchange of experiences on current research results on the multisensory basis on motor behavior and the effectiveness of acoustical information.

Invited to Hanover were the keynote speakers Günther Knoblich, Marc Ernst, Stephan Swinnen, Charles Spence, Roberto Bresin and Elisabetta Làdavas.
The exceptional amount and continuous presence of renowned experts was perceived/appreciated as an attractive offer to exchange knowledge – especially by young researchers.

Multisensory_Motor_Behavior_20130930_009
Ernst, Effenberg, Maassen
Knoblich
Knoblich
Münte_Ernst_Schmitz
Münte, Ernst, Schmitz

The welcoming notes were held by Erich Barke, president of the Leibniz University Hanover, and Norbert Maassen, GD of the Institute of Sports Science, Leibniz University Hanover.
Thereafter the 2-day-programme started with an inspiring talk from Günther Knoblich (Budapest) on the topic „Producing and perceiving sounds together“. At the end everyone knew that it is not possible not to interact with one another.

The second session was moderated by Thomas Münte (Lübeck). Marc Ernst (Bielefeld) enthralled the audience with his presentation on „The benefits and costs of multisensory perception”. His research results showed impressively, how the brain combines information from different sensory channels and movement experiences.

The final scientific block of the first conference day was chaired by Niki Wenderoth (Zurich). She introduced the main research areas of the keynote speaker Stephan Swinnen (Leuven), who summarized the results of his multi-faceted locomotion research in his talk „Augmented visual and auditory feedback and the acquisition of coordination skills”.

Swinnen_Wenderoth_Zentgraf_Bischoff_Bresin
Swinnen, Wenderoth, Zentgraf,
Bischoff, Bresin
Spence_Wolf
Spence, Wolf
Wolf_Schmitz_Effenberg
Wolf, Schmitz, Effenberg

Dr. Andreas Sennheiser (CEO Sennheiser) described some of his personal experiences with movement-sound interactions welcoming all participants to the second conference day.

Matthias Weigelt (Paderborn) introduced Charles Spence (Oxford), who held the first scientific presentation of the day. During his talk on „Multisensory influences on motor behavior and vice versa“, he invited the conference guests to actively try some parts of the presented research protocols.

Roberto Bresin (Stockholm) was introduced by Frederic Bevilacqua (Paris). He presented a metaanalysis on mapping strategies in studies on sonification: „Sonification of physical quantities: an overview over the most used mapping strategies, with some examples in sport applications“.

The next keynote speaker Elisabetta Làdavas (Bologna) was introduced by Claudia Voelcker-Rehage (Bremen). In her presentation „Recovery of a unisensory deficit following multisensory rehabilitation” she reported of their achievements in rehabilitation using different forms of multisensory stimulation.

The organisers of the conference Alfred Effenberg (Hannover), Gerd Schmitz (Hannover) and Peter Wolf (Zurich) concluded the programme with a presentation on „Sonification in sport and rehabilitation“ and a final discussion.

Sound was not only important in the scientific context. The performance of the A cappella-Band str8voices showed impressively that sound can also move us beneath.

A special thanks goes to the “Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft” and the “Bundesinstitut für Sportwissenschaft” who supported the scientific part of the conference. Visual impressions of the conference can be found at:

http://sonification-online.com/impressions-of-the-conference/

The high interest of experts in neuroscience, engineering, rehabilitation, locomotion research and sports science shows the transdisciplinary relevance of the conference topic „Multisensory Motor Behavior – Impact of Sound”. The field of sports science was capable of providing the right framework for an intensive interdisciplinary exchange of experiences.

Druck dvs_Logo_Trans_HKS14 bisp-logo Sennheiser
moticon_logo_warm06
LOGO XSens def FC Hocoma_Logo Qualisys
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien

Rückblick

Rückblick auf die internationale Konferenz “Multisensory Motor Behavior: Impact of Sound”

Am 30. September und 01. Oktober 2013 haben sich führende Experten aus der Sportwissenschaft, den Kognitions-, Neuro- und Ingenieurwissenschaften sowie der Rehabilitations- und Motorikforschung zusammengefunden, um sich im Leibnizhaus der Leibniz Universität Hannover zum Themengebiet „Multisensory Motor Behavior: Impact of Sound” auszutauschen.

Ausgerichtet wurde die dvs-Veranstaltung vom Arbeitsbereich Sport und Bewegung/Training des Instituts für Sportwissenschaft der Leibniz Universität Hannover (Prof. Dr. Alfred Effenberg und Dr. Gerd Schmitz) sowie der Arbeitsgruppe Sensory-Motor Systems Lab der ETH Zürich (Dr. Peter Wolf).

Die single-track Konferenz bot Raum zu Diskussionen und einem intensiven Erfahrungsaustausch über aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse zur multisensorischen Basis der Verhaltensregulation und der Wirksamkeit akustischer Informationsanteile. Insgesamt kamen 90 Personen aus 10 Ländern zu Vorträgen und Posterpräsentationen zusammen.

Die ungewöhnlich hohe Anzahl und kontinuierliche Präsenz an renommierten Experten wurde gerade auch von den anwesenden Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen als ein besonders attraktives Angebot zum Wissensaustausch wahrgenommen.

Als eingeladene Haupt­referenten waren Günther Knoblich, Marc Ernst, Stephan Swinnen, Charles Spence, Roberto Bresin und Elisabetta Làdavas bei der internationalen Konferenz in Hannover dabei.

Multisensory_Motor_Behavior_20130930_009
Ernst, Effenberg, Maassen
Knoblich
Knoblich
Münte_Ernst_Schmitz
Münte, Ernst, Schmitz

Nach einer kurzen Begrüßung durch Alfred Effenberg und eröffnenden Worten vom Präsidenten der Leibniz Universität Hannover, Erich Barke, sowie dem Geschäftsführenden Leiter des Instituts für Sportwissenschaft, Norbert Maassen, begann das 2-tägige Programm mit einem inspirierenden Vortrag von Günther Knoblich (Budapest) zum Thema „Producing and perceiving sounds together“. Am Ende war allen Zuhörern klar, dass wir nicht nicht miteinander interagieren können.

Die zweite Session wurde von Thomas Münte (Lübeck) moderiert. Hier begeisterte Marc Ernst (Bielefeld) mit seiner Präsentation „The benefits and costs of multisensory percep-tion”. Die Ergebnisse mehrerer Experimente zeigten eindrucksvoll, wie das Gehirn die Informationen aus verschiedenen Sinneskanälen und Erfahrungen bei Bewegungshandlungen kombiniert.

Den abschließenden wissenschaftlichen Block des ersten Konferenztages leitete Niki Wenderoth (Zürich) ein. Sie stellte die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Hauptredners Stephan Swinnen (Leuven) vor, der die Ergebnisse seiner facettenreichen Motorikforschung im Beitrag „Augmented visual and auditory feedback and the acquisition of coordination skills” zusammenfasste.

Im Grußwort des zweiten Konferenztages beschrieb Dr. Andreas Sennheiser (CEO Sennheiser) anschaulich seine persönlichen Erfahrungen von Soundanwendungen im Sport.

Swinnen_Wenderoth_Zentgraf_Bischoff_Bresin
Swinnen, Wenderoth, Zentgraf,
Bischoff, Bresin
Wolf_Schmitz_Effenberg
Wolf, Schmitz, Effenberg
Spence_Wolf
Spence, Wolf

Nach Anmoderation von Matthias Weigelt (Paderborn) lieferte Charles Spence (Oxford) den wissenschaftlichen Auftakt des Tages.
Er lud die Zuhörer in seinem mitreißenden Vortrag „Multisensory influences on motor behavior and vice versa“ dazu ein, verschiedene Ausschnitte aus den vorgestellten Untersuchungsprotokollen aktiv auszuprobieren.

Der von Frederic Bevilacqua (Paris) angekündigte Roberto Bresin (Stockholm) stellte eine Metaanalyse zu Mappingstrategien bei Sonifikationsstudien vor: „Sonification of physical quantities: an overview over the most used mapping strategies, with some examples in sport applications“.

Die nachfolgende Hauptreferentin Elisabetta Làdavas (Bologna) wurde von der Sprecherin der dvs-Sektion Sportmotorik Claudia Voelcker-Rehage (Bremen) anmoderiert. In dem Vortrag „Recovery of a unisensory deficit following multisensory rehabilitation” berichtete sie von ihren Erfolgen mit verschiedenen Formen von multisensorischer Stimulation in der Rehabilitation.

Die Organisatoren Alfred Effenberg, Gerd Schmitz (beide Hannover) und Peter Wolf (Zürich) rundeten mit einem gemeinsamen Beitrag „Sonification in sport and rehabilitation“ und einer anschließenden Abschlussdiskussion den wissenschaftlichen Teil der Veranstaltung ab.

Sound spielte nicht nur im wissenschaftlichen Kontext eine wichtige Rolle. Der Auftritt der A cappella-Band str8voices im Rathaus von Hannover zeigte, dass Sound auch innerlich bewegen kann.

Ein herzlicher Dank gilt der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und dem Bundesinstitut für Sportwissenschaft für die Unterstützung des wissenschaftlichen Teils der Veranstaltung. Visuelle Eindrücke der Konferenz können unter folgendem Link eingesehen werden:

http://sonification-online.com/impressions-of-the-conference/

Das große Interesse führender Wissenschaftler aus den Neuro-, Kognitions- und Ingenieurwissenschaften, der Rehabilitations- und Motorikforschung sowie der Sportwissenschaft zeigt, dass mit dem Konferenzthema „Multisensorische Verhaltensregulation“ eine transdisziplinär hochaktuelle Thematik behandelt wurde. Die Sportwissenschaft konnte hier für die genannten Disziplinen einen passenden Rahmen für den intensiven interdisziplinären Austausch anbieten.

Druck dvs_Logo_Trans_HKS14 bisp-logo Sennheiser
moticon_logo_warm06
LOGO XSens def FC Hocoma_Logo Qualisys
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien