Movement sonification

Additional realtime movement acoustics for stroke rehabilitation

Within this interdisciplinary research project a mobile system for motion analysis and acoustic transformation of kinematic movement parameters (movement sonification) will be developed.

Inertial sensors are used to measure kinematic parameters which are transformed with minimal temporal delay.

(1) Technologically it is a challenge to measure kinematic parameters with a sufficient precision based on inertial sensors (XSens, e.g.) to realize the computation and acoustic transformation with minimal temporal delay in “realtime” and for extended duration of application.

(2) In the behavioral domain it is imortant to achieve high motor efficiency of realtime movement sonification by optimizing it with respect to information content, selection of movement parameters, sound aesthetics as well as acceptance by subjects. These are important pre-conditions for the use of movement sonification in stroke rehabilitation.

Within this research project scientists of the Leibniz University Hanover (Prof. Alfred Effenberg, project coordination, Institute of Sport Science, Prof. Holger Blume, Institute of Microelectronic Systems) are cooperating with a college from the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media (Prof. Eckart Altenmüller, Institute of Music Physiology and Musicians’ Medicine). The development of the mobile sonification platform is supported by the two companies ‘videantis GmbH’ and ‘Kind GmbH & Co. KG’.

Project Management

Prof. Dr. Alfred Effenberg

Scientific Coworkers

Dr. Gerd Schmitz, Daniela Kröger, Pia Vinken, Ursula Fehse

Project Support

European Union: European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), videantis GmbH, Kind GmbH & Co. KG

Research Area

audio-motor function, kinesiology, motor perception, motor rehabilitation, multisensory integration, stroke rehabilitation

Media Download

Publications

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien

Bewegungssonifikation

Echtzeit-Bewegungsvertonung für die Schlaganfallrehabilitation

Ziel des interdisziplinären Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines mobilen Systems zur komplexen Bewegungserfassung und Bewegungsvertonung durch Sonifikation. Die für das Projekt erforderlichen Entwicklungen sind für zwei Bereiche innovativ.

Bewegungssonifikation

Mit einer Inertialsensorik werden kinematische Parameter mit einem geringen Zeitverzug erfasst und akustisch transformiert.

(1) Technologisch: Mit der präzisen mobilen Erfassung (Inertialsensorik), Verarbeitung und akustischen Transformation kinematischer Bewegungsparameter über lange Zeiträume und in Echtzeit bestehen anspruchsvolle Spezifikationen, die kein existierendes System aufweist.

(2) Informationstheoretisch/verhaltenspsychologisch: Die Methode der komplexen Echtzeit-Bewegungssonifikation muss bezüglich Informationsgehalt, Klangästhetik, Akzeptanz und motorischer Wirksamkeit grund­legend weiterentwickelt werden. Erst dies ermöglicht eine kontinuierliche Anwendung der Methode am Patienten in der motorischen Rehabilitation.

Dazu kooperieren Wissenschaftler der LUH (Prof. Alfred Effenberg, Projektleitung, Institut für Sportwissenschaft und Prof. Holger Blume, Institut für Mikro­­elektronische Systeme) mit einem Kollegen von der HMTMH (Prof. Eckart Altenmüller, Direktor des Instituts für Musikphysiologie und Musikermedizin). Im Rahmen des Projektes wird eine mobile Sonifikations-Hardware-Plattform unter Beteiligung der Firmen „KIND-Hörgeräte“ und „videantis“ entwickelt.

Projektleitung

Prof. Dr. Alfred Effenberg

Wissenschaftliche Projektmitarbeiter/innen

Dr. Gerd Schmitz, Daniela Kröger, Pia Vinken

Wissenschaftliche und studentische Mitarbeiter/innen

Ursula Fehse

Kooperationspartner

Prof. Dr. Holger Blume (LUH, Hannover), Prof. Dr. Eckart Altenmüller (HMTMH, Hannover)

Projektunterstützung

Europäische Union: Europäischer Fond für Regionale Entwicklung (EFRE), Kind Hörgeräte GmbH & Co. KG, videantis GmbH

Forschungsbereich

Audiomotorik, Bewegungswissenschaft, Bewegungswahrnehmung, motorische Rehabilitation, multimodale Information, Multisensorische Integration, Schlaganfallrehabilitation

Media Download

Publikationen

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien